Contact

Department Head

Diane McNamara

203.977.5629

CAPT Corner

Resources your child needs to be successful on the Connecticut Academic
Achievement Test
.


SCIENCE SURVEY

In accordance with Connecticut General Statutes Section 10-223a, it is the express policy of the Board of Education that all students in the Stamford Public Schools shall fulfill the following requirements in order to graduate from high school:
  1. Pass all district required courses for graduation, as posted in the District Program of Studies
  2. Take all sections of the CAPT test and either:  
    1. Pass the CAPT at proficient level;  
    2. Pass an alternate national standardized assessment at proficient level (as the Superintendent shall define by regulation); or  
    3. Meet the requirements of a district performance task at proficient level.
  3. In order to assist teachers and students in understanding and complying with this policy, the Board of Education, through the Superintendent, shall adopt regulations concerning the implementation of these graduation requirements. Students who fail to meet these high school graduation requirements shall not graduate from high school, except as may be specifically provided in the regulations.
Last Name First Name Email Address Room
McNamara Diane dMcNamara@stamfordCT.gov 615
Campbell Ashley aCampbell@StamfordCT.gov Ag Rm 9
Cipolla Virginia vCipolla@StamfordCT.gov agrm2
Clark Wendy WClark@StamfordCT.gov 309
Cole Patty pCole@StamfordCT.gov  
DePeano John jDePeano@stamfordCT.gov 304
Dodita Laura lDodita@stamfordCT.gov 115
Fabre Amparo aFabre@stamfordCT.gov 308
Grant Carley cGrant@stamfordCT.gov 310
Hamilton Virginia vHamilton@StamfordCT.gov Ag Rm 10
Handy Emily eHandy@stamfordCT.gov 113
Jeffries Danielle dJeffries@stamfordCT.gov Ag Rm 1
Johnson Robert rJohnson1@stamfordct.gov 109
Kumar Rajinder  rKumar@StamfordCT.gov 112
Lathrop Joan jLathrop@stamfordCT.gov 114
Leveille Jennifer jLeveille@StamfordCT.gov 307
Miller Charlotte cMiller2@stamfordCT.gov 107
Otterspoor Sean sOtterspoor@stamfordCT.gov 305
Oviasu-Egege Miriam MOviasu-Nosa@stamfordCT.gov 614
Paolini Marianna mPaolini@stamfordCT.gov 321
Perry Neal nPerry@stamfordCT.gov 313
Soto Sandra sSoto@stamfordCT.gov  
Spata Erin eSpata@stamfordCT.gov 309
Stabile Jules gStabile@stamfordCT.gov 616

Overview

The State of Connecticut and the Stamford Public Schools' frameworks foster the development of interest in global issues and the ability to collect, analyze, and use data to explore and explain related science concepts for students in grades 9 and 10. For students in grades 11 and 12, the focus of learning shifts to the development of deep understanding of science concepts and principles and to the preparation for future studies and careers. Interactive boards and web-based resources are used extensively in every course.

 

Program of Studies

Course Offerings

  • CP Physical Science
  • Sheltered CP Physical Science
  • CP Biology
  • Sheltered CP Biology
  • CP Earth Systems (½ year)
  • CP Space Systems (½ year)
  • CP Chemistry
  • CP Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Honors Biology
  • Honors Chemistry
  • Honors Physics
  • AP Biology
  • UConn ECE/AP Biology
  • AP Chemistry
  • UConn ECE/AP Chemistry
  • AP Physics B 
  • AP Physics C 
  • AP Environmental Science
  • UConn ECE/AP Environmental  

 

Science Electives:
  • Environmental Science (½ year)
  • Forensic Science (½ year)
  • CP Forensic Science
  • Human Physiology
  • Marine Biology (½ year)
  • Science Research
  • Biobotics (½ year)
  • Bioethics (½ year)
  • Biotechnology (½ year)