Department Head

Dr. Lisa Forbes

203.977.5633

Overview

Courses Offered in the Social Studies Department

Links:

The Stamford Historical Society

Stamford Public Scools

Social Studies Curriculum

 

This Day in History

Last Name First Name Phone Email Room  
Forbes Lisa 203.977.4495 lForbes@stamfordCT.gov 418 Dept Chair
Begetis Kathryn   kBegetis@stamfordCT.gov 603  
Berkley Sheryl   sBerkley@stamfordCT.gov 407  
Cerone Richard   rCerone@stamfordCT.gov 403  
Coyle Kristine   kCoyle@stamfordCT.gov 411  
Devine Dan   dDevine@stamfordCT.gov    
English Kaylin   kEnglish@StamfordCT.gov 410  
Hoffman Aaron   aHoffman@stamfordCT.gov 418  
Kubick Tyson   tKubick@stamfordCT.gov 408  
Loesch Alyce   aLoesch@stamfordCT.gov 417  
Mazza Raymond   rMazza@stamfordCT.gov  423  
Miraballes Maria   mMiraballes@stamfordCT.gov 433  
Mitchell Avalyn   aMitchell@stamfordCT.gov 607  
Page Todd   tPage@stamfordCT.gov 600  
Petrone Joseph   jPetrone@stamfordCT.gov 420  
Stone Scott   sStone@StamfordCT.gov 604  
Taylor Erin   eTaylor@stamfordCT.gov 419  
Tintle Laura   lTintle@stamfordCT.gov 405  
White Patrick   pWhite@stamfordCT.gov 415  
Sandoval Owen   oSandoval@StamfordCT.gov 415 Bi-Lingual

 

Social Studies teachers are at the forefront of teaching citizenship.  Today, citizenship has extended into the digital world.  “Students need to be educated on how to be good citizens of their country and what their rights and responsibilities are as members of society. The same issues need to be addressed with regard to the emerging digital society, so that students can learn how to be responsible and productive members of that society.” -Mike Ribble, Digital Citizenship in Schools, 2007

AP US History

Task: The following terms are main concepts that will arise throughout the year. For each of the following terms you must provide a definition (content), the background/overview (contextualization), a comparison (synthesis), and an analysis (point of view). An example has been modeled for you.

 

 

AP World Assignment

You are required to complete all parts of this assignment for full credit This packet will be weighted as a Test Grade and count towards your 1st Quarter Average.  The Summer Assignment is broken up into two different parts: Part One – Basic Understanding and Part Two – World Maps